Multiple sclerosis (MS) is a long-term condition that affects the central nervous system (CNS), which is comprised of the brain and spinal cord.

In MS, inflammation destroys the protective myelin sheath around the neurones in the CNS and stops the nerves from working properly. This is called demyelination.

MS varies from person to person and not everyone’s MS is the same. Although MS is individual and everyone will have a different experience, broadly speaking there are three main types: relapsing-remitting MS, secondary progressive MS and primary progressive MS.

Types of MS

  • Characterised by repeated attacks (relapses) and nervous system symptoms that reflect inflammation within the CNS.
  • Symptoms vary from patient to patient but typically involve:
    • walking difficulties
    • numbness
    • vision problems
    • disturbed balance
  • Symptoms of a relapse may disappear completely when the relapse is over, but some problems may remain.
  • Typically happens over time and is when people who have relapsing-remitting MS begin to have fewer or no relapses, but continue to experience an increase in their disability.
  • As this follows an initial relapsing-remitting phase, this type of MS is called secondary progressive MS.
  • Less common than relapsing-remitting MS.
  • People with this type of MS see their disability increase from the beginning, rarely experiencing relapses.
Rate this content: 
No votes yet
MUL20-C059 November 2020.

Ask Speakers


Medical Information Request

Reporting of side effects
If you get any side effects, talk to your doctor, pharmacist or nurse. This includes any possible side effects not listed in the package leaflet. You should also report side effects directly via the Yellow Card Scheme at
By reporting side effects you can help provide more information on the safety of this medicine.